Members & centers

Members & Centers list

University of Oxford

+44 (0) 1865 235 259
Department of Haematology, Churchill Hospital, Old Rd, Headington OX3 7LE, UK. OX3 7LE Oxford • UNITED KINGDOM

 The Haematology Department in Oxford is based within the Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and the Radcliffe Department of Medicine in the University of Oxford. It provides tertiary specialist care for most rare haematological conditions and has one of the largest research bases in haematology that is closely aligned to clinical care. Particular areas of clinical and academic expertise include (1) The Oxford Haemophilia and Thrombosis Centre (OHTC) is the largest comprehensive care centres in the UK and has specialist expertise in care of haemophilia patients with inhibitors; (2) Blood cancers - integrated molecular, flow cytometric and cytological diagnosis of haematological malignancies and deliver of state-of-the-art therapies through our national/international disease–specific key opinion clinical leaders that provide one of the largest clinical trial protofolios in the UK. Aligned to this we have a very active research programme in understanding the biological basis of myeloid malignancies and mechanisms of therapy resistance. (3) Management of red cell disorders- we host the UK National Haemoglobinopathy Reference Centre laboratory and a NGS-based diagnostic service for rare inherited anaemias as well a regional clinical service;(4) Stem cell transplantation – we transplant ~ 120 patients/year and have an active research programme into reducing relapsed disease post transplant and improving graft versus leukaemia responses. 5) Transfusion services are provided in conjunction with NHS Blood and Transplant. We conduct large trials in best use of blood and blood components. We provide a regional Apheresis Service - for emergency apheresis services for the treatment of sickle cell disease, TTP and hyperviscosity due to haematological malignancy.


Professor Doug Higgs
Director, Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine, University of Oxford
Dr. Adam Mead
Dr. Fred Piel
Departmental Lecturer in Disease Genetics
Professor Irene Roberts
Paediatric haematologist
Dr. Noemi Roy
Locum Consultant Haematologist


Copyright © 2002 - 2020 Enerca

Co-funded by the Health Programme of the European Union.