2016 EURORDIS Awards for Excellence in the Field of Rare Diseases

EURORDIS presented last 23th February its 2016 Awards for Excellence in the Field of Rare Diseases at Black Pearl Gala Dinner

February 26, 2016

Every year the European Organization for Rare Diseases, EURORDIS, recognizes outstanding patient advocates and organisations, volunteers, scientists, companies, media and policy makers who have contributed to reduce the impact of rare diseases on people's lives through the EURORDIS Awards for Excellence in the field of Rare Diseases.

The ceremony took place in Brussels last 23rd February within the Black Pearl evening, presented by Royal Highness Princess Astrid of Belgium and in presence of Rare Disease Day Ambassador Sean Hepburn Ferrer, the eldest son of the late Audrey Hepburn, who passed away from a rare cancer. Yann Le Cam, Chief Executive Officer, EURORDIS, stated: "The winners of the EURORDIS Awards show exceptional commitment to supporting people affected by, or people that are living with someone affected by, a rare disease. It is an important opportunity every year to take stock and recognise the hard work of the various individuals and organisations that help reduce the impact of rare diseases, and encourage others to do the same."

The 2016 Awards were given to:

• Policy Maker Award – Cristian-Silviu Buşoi, Member of the European Parliament, Romania
• Volunteer Award - Tsveta Schyns-Liharska, Belgium/Bulgaria
• Media Award - France Télévisions - AFM-Téléthon, France
• Patient Organisation Award - UNIQUE - The Rare Chromosome Disorder Support Group, UK
• Scientific Award - Prof. Dr. Peter N. Robinson, Institute for Medical Genetics, Universitätsklinikum Charité, Germany
• European Rare Disease Leadership Award - Joint winners: Antoni Montserrat Moliner, Jarek Waligóra and Michael Hübel, Directorate General of Health and Food Safety (DG-SANTE) within the European Commission
• Company Award – Actelion Pharmaceuticals Ltd., Switzerland
• Lifetime Achievement Award - Renza Barbon Galuppi, Italy

Description of the winners and pictures are available on the EURORDIS website.

Copyright © 2002 - 2020 Enerca

Co-funded by the Health Programme of the European Union.